WV Bar Association Logo
June 18, 2019 - 9:35 PM
2016 News




WVBA - Facebook WVBA - Twitter


New Executive Council Press Release 2018-2019


The West Virginia Bar Association Elects New Officers

September 12, 2018

The West Virginia Bar Association is pleased to announce its new Executive Council members for the 2018-2019 year.  The WVBA is the voluntary non-profit membership association for West Virginia’s legal profession, including attorneys, judges, legal assistants, law students, and other individuals associated with the legal community.

Harvey D. Peyton became President of the Executive Council for the 2018-2019 year.  Harvey is a member of Peyton Law Firm, P.L.L.C. and has been practicing law for over 44 years.  His area of practice is very diverse; however, his emphasis lies within courtroom litigation and the careful development of major injury and death claims.  Harvey states, “It is an honor to lead the West Virginia Bar Association for its 134th year.  As one of the United States’ oldest and most distinguished voluntary bar associations, the West Virginia Bar Association has always represented the broad spectrum of legal practice in our state.  I will do my best to maintain these high standards for the coming year.”

Ashley French is a Partner at Cipriani & Werner, P.C. in the Charleston office.  She regularly advises employers as to the implementation of employment policies and litigates claims alleging wrongful discharge, discrimination under the West Virginia Human Rights Act, and violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act. From Ashley, “I have enjoyed membership in the West Virginia Bar Association for nearly a decade. Under Harvey Peyton’s leadership as the President and our new Executive Director, Tessa White, I believe our association will continue to grow and serve its members in fresh and exciting ways.”

The other Executive Council members that were elected for the 2018-2019 year are:
- Carte P. Goodwin of Charleston, Member-in-Charge of Frost Brown Todd, LLC
- Tracey B. Eberling of Martinsburg, Steptoe & Johnson, PLLC
- Sandra M. Chapman of Wheeling, Casey & Chapman, PLLC
- Robert D. Fisher of Ripley, Adams Fisher & Chappell, PLLC

Other members of the Executive Council include the Division Chairs, Tammie C. Alexander of Morgantown (Steptoe & Johnson, PLLC) as the Real Estate Division Chair, Christina T. Brumley of Charleston (Jackson Kelly PLLC) as the Business Law Division Chair, Raymond L. Harrell, Jr. of Charleston (Flaherty Sensabaugh Bonasso PLLC) as the Young Lawyers Division Chair, and Richard E. Ford, Jr. of Lewisburg (The Ford Law Firm PLLC) as the Senior Lawyers Division Chair.

For more information, visit www.wvbarassociation.org.